Lion Steel 2022-23 Events At-a-Glance

Below are the planned dates for curricular Lion Steel ensembles. Click on each event for further details, schedules, information, and important links. All events for the extra-curricular gigging group, Pan Groove, are not listed below.

1st Quarter

Sep 12 (Mon, 2:30 – 4:30p): Mighty Dow Workshop in the Lion Steel Portable, anyone (optional)

Oct 6 – 7 (Wed – Fri, Friday concert 6p): 1st Quarter Concert w/Guest Liam Teague, EVERYONE REQUIRED
TICKETS HERE!!

schedule (tba)
program (tba)

2nd Quarter

Oct 21 (Fri, time TBA): Canboulay @ FSU, Canboulay only (required)

Nov 5 (Sat, 12 – 3p): Band Maintenance Day, anyone (optional)

Dec 7 – 10 (Wed – Sat, 7p): PAWS, Canboulay only (required)

Dec 13 (Tues, 7pm): 2nd Quarter Concert, EVERYONE REQUIRED

3rd Quarter

Feb 14 (Tues, 7p): Valentine’s Lime Dance, Canoublay, Bacchanal, Jouvert only (required)

Feb 18 (Sat, 8p – 12a): Panorama Finals, streaming live in the steel portable, anyone (optional)

Mar 1 (Wed, 7p) – 3rd Quarter Concert w/Guest Tracy Thornton, joined by Blue Steel (Matanzas HS) and Raa Advanced Steel (Raa MS), EVERYONE REQUIRED

4th Quarter

Mar 25 (Sat, 12 – 3p): Band Maintenance Day, anyone (optional)

Mar 31 – Apr 2 (Fri – Sun): FMEA @ Matanzas HS, Canboulay and Bacchanal only (required)

Apr 14 – 16 (Fri – Sun) POSSIBLE: Southeastern Percussion Ensemble Symposium, Canboulay only if we do this

Apr 20 (Thur, 6p): Lion Steel @ Cascades Park, Canboulay, Bacchanal, Jouvert (required)

last weekend in April or first in May (Fri – Sun): Steel, Piano, and Guitar trip to Jazz Fest, upperclassmen only (optional)

May 10 (Wed, 6 – 9p): 4th Quarter “Las Lap” Concert Celebration, EVERYONE REQUIRED

May 17 (Wed, time TBA): Senior Awards, Canboulay and possible Bacchanal only

Kayleen Justus

Director of Steel Bands